Aurora University Network, Among Others, Selected by European Commission to Officially Join European University Networks

European Universities Initiative

Aurora Universities Network is now in the ranks of 40 other European University networks (41-total including Aurora). The Aurora University Network was selected to join by the European Commission and was announced on 9 July 2020. The selection also comes with a €10 million grant for funding the network of universities.

The Aurora University Network includes 9 institutions so far:

  • Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
  • University of Iceland
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Duisburg-Essen
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Federico II of Naples
  • Université Grenoble-Alpes
  • Universitat Rovira I Virgili
  • Universität Innsbruck

Aurora University Network was selected among 23 other European University networks to join the existing 17. All European University Networks get funding from the EU, granted by the European Commission.

So. You might be wondering at this point what this has to do with you. We have the answer:

If you choose to come to study in a European University network like Aurora, the university will be top-notch.

This is because of the large amount of state funding that goes into developing and supporting different research, development and educational projects within the individual institutions in European University networks.

In other words, these schools in European University networks receive a massive amount of funding from the EU to do better stuff, which means that your education will be top-shelf in quality.

Here’s some more good news for you: a lot of the universities and programs within these European University networks are specifically geared towards growing and developing their bases of international students.

The funding comes from the Erasmus+ and Horizon 2020 programs that “enhance the quality, inclusion, digitalisation and attractiveness of European higher education,” according to a press release published by the European Commission announcing the news.

Here’s what the Vice President for Promoting the European Way of Life, Margaritis Schinas, said about the additional 24 university networks being selected by the Commission:

“The Commission is today strongly responding to the call of students for more freedom to study across Europe, from teachers and researchers to better pool knowledge, and from higher education institutions to pool resources. With 41 European Universities, involving 280 institutions and backed up by € 287 million from the EU budget, the European Education Area becomes a tangible reality for many,” Schinas said.

Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Mariya Gabriel, sounded even more pleased than Schinas did with the Commission’s decision to more-than-double the base of European University networks backed by the EU.

“I am very pleased to see that a diverse range of higher education institutions from all Member States and beyond are now involved in the 41 European Universities. The COVID-19 pandemic has shown that deeper cooperation across borders, disciplines and cultures is the only way to recover from the crisis and to build resilience. These European Universities are a key building block for the European Education Area,” Gabriel said.

The news could be great for incoming international students coming to Europe to study after all of the COVID-19 related lockdowns finally ease up. But until then, happy university hunting from us here at!